Matunga Primier at A Glance

Decades have passed and as we look down the corridors of time we can trace the history of Matunga Primier School with a sense of achievement and pride.

In the year 1937, a Gujarati Medium Institution was started by a handful of dedicated persons to impart education to the Gujarati Community in and around Matunga. The pionees were Shri H. K. Acharya, Shri N. V. Desai, who initiated Matunga premier and subsequently Shri Chhaganbhai Thakkar, Shri D. D. Vyas, and T. B. Trivedi extended its branches at Sion and Dadar. The teaching faculty were all developed and knowledgeable.

Their guidance and values still linger
in the memories of the pupils

In the year 1975, an English Medium section was started by eminent teaching personalities from the school. It was headed by Shri Balkrishna Acharya, Shri A. P. Patel, Shri I. N. Shah, Shri N. F. Purohit and Shri R. J. Bhojak as the principal.

The students received the best of the facilities at nominal tution fees, compared to other schools. They have soared to great height in different fields, serving the community at large.

After the demise of Shri Balabhai and Shri Bhojak, Shri Patel and Shri I. N. Shah along with Madam Savitri Venkatraman as principal kept the standard of the school alive shouldering all responsibilities with ease and care. Madam Meenakshi served the institution as the next principal, after Madam Savitri retired and now Mrs. Rosemary Fernades continues the working of the school.

Presently the school is undergoing drastic changes, making learning more pleasurable for the students. This up hill task is taken by our new Chairmen Shri Prahlad Acharya and is supported by Shri A. P. Patel, Shri I. N. Shah and Mrs. Rita Joshi.

With ‘Progress’ as our motto, we are a symbol of simple, quality education and hope to continue the legacy imparting high quality education for a better nation.

Director : Ritaben P. Joshi

The celebration of platinum jubilee of an institution is a moment of pride for everyone associated with it. For me it is much more as I belong to the family who had established this great institution called Matunga Premier School.

Head Mistress : Mrs. Rose Mary Justin

The best service to God is to impart knowledge to the Children of Society School is the greatest humanizing and socializing agency. Education means the harmonious development

Teaching Staff

Pre–Primary, Primary

  • Miss Sandra Fernandes
  • Mrs. Bhavana Desai
  • Mrs. Arti Patel
  • Mrs. Hetal Hodawadekar
  • Mrs. Rama Hindlekar
  • Miss. Jetal Thacker
  • Mrs. Supriya Dandekar
  • Mrs. Satvinder Kaur Godi
  • Mrs. Nazia Shaikh
  • Miss. Snehal Pereira
  • Miss. Meldina Fereira
  • Miss. Larissa Nunes


  • Mrs. Hendrita Nunes
  • Miss. Nilofar Shaikh
  • Miss. Saritha Manukutty
  • Mrs. Rajinder Kaur Thukrall
  • Miss. Sharda Rao
  • Mrs. Swarda Phatak
  • Mrs. Swarnalata
  • Mrs. Samidha Chavan
  • Mrs. Shobiya Thomas
  • Miss. Nilima Shinde

Administrative Staff & Auxiliary Staff

Administrative Staff

  • Mr. Amit Bhadrike
  • Mr. Sourabh Kalgutkar

Auxiliary Staff

  • Mr. Raghunath Kudkar
  • Mr. Tukaram Mandavkar
  • Mr. Ramesh Solanki
  • Mr. Suresh Malusare
  • Mr. Kamlaker Pinvankar